Canada Back to Real Estate News Homepage to RSS for this country

CA Property News

CA Updated: Three more Quebec boards leave CREA

Property Here - Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Share to:

Three more Québec boards have elected to discontinue their membership in CREA effective Dec. 31, 2012.  Four boards and the Québec Federation of Real Estate Boards have now resigned from the national association, but five other Quebec boards have indicated they will continue their membership.

On Sept. 19 Muriel Mongeau, president of the Chambre immobilière du Centre du Québec, wrote to CREA advising that under the provisions of bylaw 8.4.1 the 150 members of her board had voted 68 per cent to discontinue the boards’ membership in the national association. The board serves the Drummondville and Victoriaville areas.

On Sept. 21 Hugo Gaillardetz, president of the Chambre immobilière de la Mauricie, wrote a similar letter noting that a majority of the 190 members of his board had also voted to withdraw from CREA. The Mauricie board includes the Trois-Rivières and Shawinigan areas.

The Chambre immobilière de Saint-Hyacinthe in Saint-Hyacinthe has also indicated it will leave.

Earlier the Chambre immobilière de la Haute Yamaska and the Québec Federation of Real Estate Boards gave notice that they will not be renewing membership in CREA. Lise Desrochers, general manager of the Chambre immobilière de la Haute-Yamaska in Granby, told REM that board members decided to opt out of CREA because they feel their dues are too high for what they receive in return. The letters from Mongeau and Gaillardetz did not explain why their boards are leaving.

After the federation announced that it was leaving CREA, the association received letters from five boards confirming that they will stay “within the CREA family,” says Pierre Leduc, media relations officer at the association. They are the Chambre immobilière de Québec in Quebec City; the Chambre immobilière de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, based in Rouyn-Noranda; the Chambre immobilière de l’Estrie, Sherbrooke;  the Chambre immobilière du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean in Jonquière; and the Chambre immobilière de l’Outaouais, based in Gatineau.